Friday, May 23, 2008

SELANGOR ASSEMBLY: Three exco men to name village heads - NST

May 23, 2008

THREE state executive councillors will be responsible for proposing the names of Village Security and Development Committee's (JKKK) chairmen and village heads in Selangor.

The committee -- comprising Yaakob Sapari, Dr A. Xavier Jayakumar and Iskandar Abdul Samad -- will consult assemblymen before submitting names to district officers.

Yaakob, the state Agriculture, Natural Resources and Entreprenuership Development Committee chairman, said the process was expected to be completed by the middle of next month with appointments in July.

He said this when replying to Dr Mohd Nasir Hashim (PKR-Kota Damansara) who had asked about the appointment of village heads.

Yaakob said new JKKK and village heads were needed following a "power struggle" between them after the rural and regional development minister announced he would recognise the authority of village heads.

Saari Sungib (Pas-Hulu Klang) raised the question of public halls which have been used as Umno operations rooms.

He also wanted to know the status of nine Selangor Umno training centres.

Mohd Nasir said all halls and centres built by the state government should be handed over to the state to be managed by district office

No comments: